A Life Contrary

living a life out of the ordinary

Essential Oils: Real or Fad?

I’m sure that by this point, you’ve heard of essential oils.  If someone in your immediate circle hasn’t started using them or talked about them, then your neighbor’s cousin or your kid’s BFF’s mother has said something about them.  They are pretty much everywhere.

There’s a good reason for that.  They work.  And they’re kind of awesome.

It seems that everyone is kind of split on them.  Either you love them or you think it’s some kind of weird useless voodoo.  There is a bit of middle ground, but it seems pretty narrow.  I do have people in my life that fall into both of these camps.

It took me a while to get into them, but about two years ago, we decided to try them almost as an experiment.  I had a friend who sold them so I contacted her and got two bottles of popular blends – one for breathing and one for colds, etc.  I was completely amazed at how well they worked.  I went from using an inhaler to just using the oil.

Now, I won’t say that oils work for everyone and there are factors that are unique to each person (so what may work for my hormonal balance may not work for yours or what works for your headache may not work for mine).  There’s a lot of science to it and I won’t go into it all now.  You can do your own research on how oils work.

There are also a lot of choices on different brands.  There’s been a lot of talk about which brand is better.  I did my own research which consisted of reading a lot of blogs, articles, and histories and talking to a LOT of people a lot smarter than me.  Because the truth is not all oils are the same.

There are some oils that should only be used aromatically basically as air freshener, to make your house smell good or in cleaning products.  And there are some that just shouldn’t be used at all.  I will say that there is a brand that I picked to become a distributor for and I will share that at some point.  However, I will say that any of the top three are really good (Young Living, DoTerra, and Ameo).  Read the testimonials and decide which one is best for you and your budget.

So my final verdict is that I do believe that essential oils are the real deal.  However, they are not one size fits all.  You have to put in the work to learn about them, how they work, and what ones work for you.  There are some basics that will help you get started.

Here are a couple that I recommend if you are just beginning.  To start, I’d go with a cold blend:  Thieves (YL), OnGuard (DT), or ProShield (Ameo).  Also, a good beginner set is Peppermint, Lemon, and Lavender.  There are a lot of things you can do with just these three oils.  Tea Tree is also a great addition.

If you have any questions or want to know more about essential oils, feel free to contact me and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

