A Life Contrary

living a life out of the ordinary

Recipe Corner: Roasting a Whole Chicken

I will be completely honest.  I have struggle with whether or not I want to share this particular recipe/trick.  It’s a favorite of mine and I love being able to wow people when you pull out a whole roasted chicken that looks and smells amazing.

However, it is such a simple thing to do, I just can’t resist.  It seems quite daunting when you see that entire bird at the grocery store.  I think it evokes ideas of Thanksgiving turkeys and an enormous day of slaving over a stove or in a kitchen.

But it really isn’t that at all.  Roasting a chicken is one of the simplest preparations ever!  Cutting it up after you’ve roasted it is really the hardest part and there’s really not a lot to it.

The first time I got a whole chicken and brought it home, I really had no clue what to do.  I just knew that it was on sale and I could really get my money’s worth from it (or so I thought.  Turns out that it was SO yummy that my boys ate almost the whole thing in one meal).  I did what most the women of my generation do when they are saddled with tough culinary tasks – I looked on Pinterest (points are given for googling it, too).

When I came across this recipe from the Pioneer Woman, I was dumbfounded.  Could it really be that easy?  Yes.  Yes, it can.  Since that first day, I have roasted many a chicken.  Sometimes I still follow that recipe and sometimes I just go with whatever I have around the house.  Usually when I have a recipe, I like to follow it closely the first time I prepare a dish, but after that, all bets are off.

Here’s the basic gist (for the actual recipe, go here):

3-4lb Whole Chicken

Something to stuff inside (apples, onion, citrus fruit, carrots, celery, other root veg, garlic, etc)

Olive oil

Salt & pepper

Herbs (fresh or dried)

 

Preheat oven to 450*

Stuff the chicken (you won’t be eating this part so you don’t have to worry about peelings or precious knife skills

Pat the chicken dry (this ensures a nice browning and crust)

Mix herbs, salt, pepper, and oil together and rub all over the bird (if using fresh, make sure you remove the stems before chopping)

Cook for 1 hour 15 minutes – 1 hour 30 minutes, until brown and cooked through

Let rest for 10 minutes before cutting (this keeps the juices in the chicken and off your cutting board)

 

Yes, it really is that easy and yes, it really is that impressive.  Seriously, you should do this.  Probably tonight.  Check out the Pioneer Woman’s blog for extra tips on roasting a chicken and go here to learn how to cut it up once it’s cooked.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

