Uncategorized

The (Gilmore) Girls are Back in Town!

Well, it’s been a minute since I wrote or posted anything and let’s be honest, only one thing could bring me out of my self-imposed hibernation… the Gilmore Girls Revival.  I cannot tell you how excited I have been about this.

I came late to the Gilmore Girls party.  I didn’t watch it much in its original run, though I did watch it here and there.  But I have been a faithful follower of it in syndication, DVD sets, and Netflix.  I cannot tell you how many times I have seen individual episodes or the entire series.

 

[SPOILER WARNING]   I’m going to try to keep this relatively spoiler free, but I’m not making any promises, so if you haven’t watched Gilmore Girls:  A Year in the Life, you may want to stop here. [SPOILER WARNING]

 

First, I will say how impressed I am that everyone came back for this show!  Taylor, Babette, Patty, Kirk, Gypsy (and even lesser knowns like Andrew and Bootsy!).  Dean, Jess, and Logan.  Jason and Christopher.  Lane (and all of Hep Alien), Michel, and Sookie.  Paris, Doyle, Ryan, Colin, Finn, and Robert!  I know I’m missing people, but with this kind of ensemble cast, can you imagine getting ALL of the cast back?  (minus Liz & TJ)

I’ll go ahead and start with some of my negatives…  I’m just not sure about a few things.  One, is the style of the characters, mainly Rory and Lorelai.  It’s been almost 10 years since we’ve seen them and the entire world has changed.  It was really hard for me to figure out exactly what Lorelai and Rory would wear and do now.

Also, can we talk about the musical?  I’ll be honest, I was a fan of it.  I thought it was hilarious and I love Sutton Foster.  It seemed so Stars Hollow that it was just awesome.  However, in a limit of 4 90-minute episodes, I think the quirkiness of Stars Hollow would be better served by a festival or some other fun event where we get to see the characters we love interacting rather than a bunch of comedic takes by Lorelai while watching a hilarious Musical.  Not to mention the fact that it truly seemed like something Lorelai would love.

Emily.  Oh, how my heart broke for Emily.  Richard was my favorite and I miss him.  I thought the loss of Edward Herman was handled so well.  I thought it was pretty accurate that she would go off the deep end and act completely out of character, but I’m not super happy with how it all ended up.  I think she would probably come back around at some point, but that just never really happened.

I also wasn’t thrilled with Lorelai’s Wild pilgrimage.  I get that it would be something she’d want to do, but actually going to do it?  That just made no sense.  I could see her adapting it and taking a hike around Stars Hollow.  Or even pulling a Liz Gilbert and going to Italy or something, but hiking the Pacific Crest Trail?  No.

So, what did I love?  Pretty much everything else.  Michel and the children!  Sookie and the wedding cakes!  The Stars Hollow Gazette.  There was just so much that was so classic and reminded us of why we love this show and these Girls so much.

And now, that ending.  Whew!  We finally found out what the final four words were and boy were they a doozy.  I thought the ending was amazing.  Do I like the cliffhanger?  No!  I want more.  I want to know what happens next.  But with a show like this, I think we can pretty accurately guess what will happen.  Not to mention is there any other way this could end?

 

So, what did y’all think?  Love it or hate it?

Leave a Reply

