Wholeness

2017’s Word – “Light”

I have been doing the “one-word” thing for a couple years now and I have to say that it has totally made a difference.  I’ve written about the concept and how it’s all worked for a while, so I don’t know that there’s a need for that.  

I will say that this year has been a lot more difficult in choosing a word.  In the past few years, it has been pretty miraculous how God has shown me the focus for my year.  This year I was thinking about a couple different ones, but there was no real front runner.

I knew I wanted something Jesus-focused, but ‘Jesus’ seemed a little too one the nose, so I started thinking about his other attributes – healer, redeemer, love.  Then the word ‘Light’ came to me and it really seemed to fit for a plethora of reasons.  Obviously, Jesus is the Light of the world.  But also, Light is pure energy, which signifies power and positivity.  There is also the dual idea of ‘Light’ as a lessening of a burden or load.  Jesus’ yoke is easy and His burden is Light.

A week into the year and I’m not entirely sure how this is going to play out.  At our candlelight service on Christmas Eve, Light seemed so perfect.  Then a few days later, Nathan was at a friend’s house and the friend turned on his Christmas lights to show Nathan.  He remarked that they looked better in the night, to which Nathan replied, “Well, yes, they light does look better in the dark.”

I have been thinking about this.  On the one hand, things have been getting steadily better in our life and as Nathan keeps reassuring me, “We’re about to turn a corner.”  So, this is the Light at the end of the tunnel.  We’ve also got some major changes coming up.  They are scary, but I think it’s going to be good.  Because of this, I have to focus on the Light and not the darkness.

I’m still toying with the verse to go along with it all, but I’m thinking of John 8:12 (ESV):

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world.  Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Leave a Reply

